Amendment One – North Carolina

Despite the fact I no longer live in North Carolina and this blog is primarily about Texas and all of its wonders and flaws, tonight I am turning everyone’s attention to my last place  of residency: North Carolina.

They passed Amendment One today, which fucks everyone up. First off, gay marriage was already illegal in NC: with Amendment One, marriage is apparently specified to a man and a woman. Additionally, ALL other civil unions and domestic partnerships are banned.

Fuck you, North Carolina.

I could say the same thing about Texas, you know. Most of the politicians that come out of both of these two states are hateful, intolerant and conservative right-winging warmongers. But nobody I knew, in Texas or North Carolina, was like this. Amendment One has been trending on Facebook for a good week and a half or so, and nobody I knew was for it. All this time it’s been, “Please, tell everyone you know old enough to vote NOT to vote for Amendment One.” All week, it’s been everyone trying to clarify how awful this amendment really is.

It’s not even so much a religious thing, for some. Check out this message from Episcopalians in NC that have the right idea.

Episcopalian Clergy of NC AGAINST Amendment One.

I posted this on my Facebook profile on May 1st, the first day this Amendment One stuff started really circulating. It made my heart leap in actual faith that the Church was doing something positive, tolerant and ACCEPTING – just like religion really SHOULD be.

You know, I’m sixteen years old. It makes me fear for … everything, really: our country and all the others in the world, when THIS is how we handle things. I don’t know what it’ll take to make some fundamentalists understand that Jesus and God and everybody in their Holy Book preached LOVE, not hate.

I don’t know what it will take to make them understand that until they understand that people that have other spiritual beliefs have just as much right to exist as they do, or just as many rights to love and marry each other and visit each other in the hospital GOD (Yes, because GOD cares about these people too) forbid anything happen to these wonderful people.

But I hope to God, in my non-religious sentiment, that people start wising up. Because this is really, truly heartbreaking. As much as I dislike Connecticut, it is one of the few states in the United States of America where gay and lesbian individuals have the same rights as any other person.

Because this is how a child should grow up … learning of love and tolerance and NOT to discriminate and hate.

Leave a Reply

