Volunteering!

Today, I did 185 minutes of volunteer time in the library at my school. I now have a total of 4.25 hours already logged in a total of two volunteering days! The work should be tedious, but really I enjoy it. It’s all about ordering things – by number, by author, by date for the newspapers. It’s all about being detail-oriented and it honestly makes the time go by pretty quickly.

Unfortunately, most of this time was during my two study halls I’ve got on B days since I dropped Concert Choir. The decision was only a tad bit difficult. The student managers were becoming unbearable and the teacher was beginning to get frustrated with all the misbehaving children and in response, made a seating chart. This seating chart placed me near a bunch of misbehaving children. Additionally, I’ve been having really awful chronic headaches lately that have been plaguing me. They seem to only bother me when I’m home and after homework is done; when my mind is finally free to relax and focus on things that aren’t necessary.

I joined the school newspaper last Thursday. They meet every Thursday and their issue will come out this week. The teacher who runs it is a very sweet lady. Her name is Mrs. P because her real name is too difficult for me to spell. Last week, we all edited the stories. It was actually pretty fun. Mrs. P has a SmartBoard in her room which is kind of like a large touch-screen projector except even cooler. So some of the other people sat at the computer alternately and we all sat in various chairs and peer edited it!

To be honest, there’s more to talk about, but I don’t think I’ll be awake for long enough to continue writing. I’m so tired! I stayed after school today because the library is open late on Mondays (and Thursdays, but I can’t stay then because of the Rampage) and I wanted to rack up my hours. So I was there until three and then was doing homework from the time I got home until around six or seven at night. It was absolutely awful. Finishing a geometry review, then finishing history work that I was behind on, and then taking some notes on a historical figure that compared to Lord of the Flies. That’s a particularly drab assignment, especially because that book was rather … disturbing.

Anyway, I am going to bed now with a hint of my upcoming writing project. I’m taking creative writing next year, and my lovely Boyfriend told me about these cool six word stories. I recommend checking them out!

One thought on “Volunteering!

  1. Pingback: An update in the life. | craftytexangirl

Leave a Reply

