Freedom

Freedom is a funny concept. The book Animal Farm is supposed to be a mockery of communism, although from what I’ve heard of it: “Some animals are more free than others.” Is that not how we are living now? 

This post is to antagonize those who disagree with me. I know they’ll be there because I’m going to tag it to have the hateful flocking to the post. To my blog! It will be wonderful to see the traffic I’ll get just by hatred. We shall see. 

It’s nearly 10 p.m. so I won’t (unfortunately) be able to make this a very long rant, but the two issues I am going to briefly speak of to enrage some fellow bloggers involve supposed freedom that we in this country ought to have. I am going to outrage so many people, and it will be funny, because they won’t read this part where I anticipate their rage and flaming. They’ll say nothing of it in the comments. No, sir. 

My two topics of the night are abortions and marriage. 

I am pro-choice, and I think this applies to more than just abortion. In this country, in this beloved United States where we cherish the freedom to speak as we please, voice our opinions and do within reason all of the things that we’d like to – we have choices. We have a myriad of choices every day – whether to wake up or stay in bed, what to wear for the day, to go to work or school or to stay at home and take a sick day … Choices and choices. There are thousands more in a single day. 

One thing we as respectful American citizens have no control and no choice of is the actions of others. So, say, if someone is taken advantage of by a trusted neighbor or well-known adult, whomever it may be… And raped. The person raped has no choice, that person cannot control the situation. If she gets pregnant by this sexual encounter, who believes that she should have to go through nine months of pregnancy and then deliver a child that is not hers by right? Bible thumpers say that it is wrong to take a life. Do you consider the feelings of the woman raped after such a terrible event? Do you consider it familial and logically right to force a young teenage female to carry out a pregnancy that she may not be able to live through? Or if she is, is it okay to make her go through the emotional attachment of pregnancy after the emotional DISTRESS of RAPE? 

I think a lot of devout religious folks that still disagree with abortion in such situations – which, no, it’s not something that’s easily proved but BELIEVE IT OR NOT, abortion is not something that people do just because they feel like it. But anyone who still disagrees with it is either not taking into account anything that I’ve actually said, any of the real arguments for pro-choice, or they are honestly that ignorant. 

My other topic of the night is the legality of homosexual marriages. Another issue heavily combated by the religious folks of my ever-so-free country. 

My first question about it is just why not? Just why not? If you aren’t gay, don’t get married to someone of your sex. It should honestly be that simple

In the past few days I’ve debated this as it is one of my few strong political opinions I hold near and dear to me and my ever-so-active political friend said that it should not be a question of whether same-sex marriages are legal or not, but why is marriage governed by government. 

I don’t believe that this friend of mine has understood the difficulties that a gay male couple that has spent their life together … Say they’re in their sixties or seventies. And one of them is in the hospital. He can’t see his partner because they are not legally permitted to be married. 

Whether you are religious or not, if you don’t see something wrong with that, you are a heartless bastard and I can’t believe you’re allowed on the Internet. Really. If you’re married, imagine if you were in that situation, with you in the hospital and being unable to legally see your partner. Or imagine you wouldn’t be allowed to see your partner in the hospital.

Imagine the amount of stress you might maybe feel under such a situation. It’s impossible for you to understand that kind of pain until you’ve had the miserable misfortune of experiencing it and even if you are a cruel sick person who believes in such illegality then I still do not wish it upon you, because it is too close to wishing death upon a person and that is something I would never do. 

The point of this blog is – yes, to entertain the rage readers – but also just to open some eyes. I wish people cared. I wish people were empathetic.

If you are religious, fine. Be religious. Worship your God and Christ and the Trinity and do whatever you’re going to do.Worship Allah or Vishnu or whomever, be as you will, do whatever you like that makes you happy spiritually.

But when you stop the freedoms and the happiness of others because of YOUR personal beliefs… that’s when it stops being okay. In the United States, every citizen has the freedom of religion. We have no official religion in this country. You are free to do what you like. We as citizens have many other freedoms, none of which should be stunted by your personal beliefs and opinions on what is morally right and wrong. 

Be open-minded. Be compassionate. Care about other people, as Jesus would have done. I guarantee you that Jesus would not be all right with you all today if He saw all the terrible, hateful things that so many fundamentalists do. He would not be down with bombing Planned Parenthood buildings or murdering doctors who perform abortions or carrying signs that say “God Hates Fags.” I am not a religious person myself but I do believe that Jesus loved and loves ALL people. He would be disappointed in your disregard for the human race that He murdered His son to make up for sins. All of you that continue to fill this world with hate are more of sinners than any homosexual man or woman who has consensual sex with their same-sex partners.  

One thought on “Freedom

  1. Pingback: An update in the life. | craftytexangirl

Leave a Reply

