Idealism and Politics

First things first. I despise politics.
I do not identify myself with a political label because I think they are meaningless tools of judgment that fail to have any correlation with a person’s actual opinions and beliefs as far as what is politically correct.

I do not believe in being judgmental of a politician based on his (or her) political party alignment. That’s stupid and it makes you look like an ignorant fool when you call someone out with an insult based on their party and when you’re asked why, you say, “Well, s/he must be stupid because s/he is a Democrat/Republican/Liberal…” It’s pointless, and you’re a terrible person to even vouch for your own political opinion because you’re probably not educated in your OWN preferable candidate, much less in anyone else’s.

On Facebook, I’ve been seeing lots of things lately that I like and sharing them. Sharing is something that until about a week or two ago, I never did. Not sure if there’s any particular reason or if there is, what that reason is, but I just didn’t do it much. One of these things was a quote by a very famous celebrity, one you just may have heard of: George Clooney. And I’m not going to copy the entire thing but it basically said that he is “disillusioned by people that are disillusioned by Obama.” The people that are disillusioned by Obama are judgmental Republicans who just can’t WAIT to get him out of office and replace him with Mitt Romney or Ron Paul or whomever steps up to the plate. And Clooney goes on to say that you know, if you guys were more tolerant as Americans that may have previously voted FOR Obama as opposed to McCain, then you’d be focusing – or at least, you know, ACKNOWLEDGING the good things that Obama has done thus far.

And I shared this because I agree. I don’t like politics. I think the majority of people that enter presidency are stupid and unable to determine the difference between a secular government and a government where their personal faith determines how they govern. In my personal opinion, Obama seems like an intelligent man with promising ideals but who hasn’t (and again this is MY OPINION!) done much for the few strong passions I have as far as politics go.

So, this posting of one measly quote developed into a conversation between my grandmother and a more recent friend I’ve made and they apparently are Republicans. That which I detest. That which, because I like to avoid conflict, I cannot comment on or express my opinion freely because I’d rather the conversation cease than get in fights with friends or family.

Here is the place where I can post my free ideas and opinions and the few things I care about. So here we go. In a perfect world:

1.) Marriage is legal, be it gay, straight or lesbian.
There is no reason why gay men or lesbian women cannot be together other than the idea that the Bible says it’s wrong. Therefore, the fact that same sex marriages have been outlawed implies that this is something that religion has impacted. Therefore: not secular. More importantly, if the sanctity of marriage is so valued and important, then why can you get married in Las Vegas for cash when it’s obvious that you’re not in any kind of a meaningful relationship? Why is it that people who hate each other can be married for economic or social benefits they both profit from but two men who love each other and who have been together for years not see each other in the hospital?

2.) Drugs need to stay illegal; become better handled.
Most people that have problems with the ‘war on drugs’ have problems with it because they either are drug heads or are angry about the U.S. profiting on drugs that remain illegal.
Well, I’ve dealt first-hand with many, many people that do and have done drugs. And I’m sick of them.
Drugs doesn’t only apply to marijuana or the common drugs. No. Alcohol needs to be better handled, too. Why? Because they are destructive. They hurt your body, they hurt your mind, they hurt people around you, you put others at risk because of your stupidity. Cigarettes. Secondhand smoke can hurt peers. Alcohol. Car wrecks, increasingly abusive behaviors… It’s not right. It isn’t ethical that these things are legal when so often people who are sworn off these things can get hurt by people who are reckless with their lives. I shouldn’t die of lung cancer because you don’t care about yourself or others. I shouldn’t die in a car accident because you were drinking and didn’t think that you shouldn’t be driving. I should not have to pay for your stupidity.

3.) Schools need to do a better job of motivating children.
I don’t think anything – politics, drug addicts, intolerance – anything pisses me off more than kids that don’t give a rat’s ass about anything. They don’t want to do anything in school. They don’t care what they do when they get out of high school – supposing that they even do enough to ever graduate, but most of them will probably drop out. These kids are the ones who never bother looking at their homework. These kids are the ones who skip almost every class, that show up maybe once or twice or – if you’re lucky – three times a month. These are the kids that are constantly shouting, fighting in the halls – or are utterly promiscuous within petty high school relationships, walking around the halls holding hands with everyone – or post perverse and shameless pictures of themselves on Facebook. That pisses me off so much because so many people just throw their lives away. These are the people that grow up to be drug and alcohol addicts that have no real job, no real education, nothing.
I honestly don’t even understand how people get that way. I for one can vouch as someone who didn’t have the best childhood or the best role models for parents as far as that kind of a thing but never, ever would I do that kind of a thing. Don’t fucking give up on yourself. :\

 And the last thing I want to stress is nothing that can be controlled by the government but it’s a rant about people. People, shut the fuck up about how negative all of your situation is. GET OVER IT. Be proactive. Be optimistic. Get your shit out of the way and stop complaining about it. Nothing’s going to be done by staring at your problems and moping and ignoring them. Nothing’s going to be done by bitching about your problems to someone else and snapping on them regardless of everything they tell you. No, it isn’t something that’s easily done: getting things done. But you damn well can do it and you damn well know when you could be getting something you NEED to do done and you’re not doing it. So much distress comes from such simple problems. I understand the need for support, the need to vent, but when you continuously only complain about your problems and your life, you’re making it worse for yourself and those that care about you and are listening to you. Do something for yourself. Care about yourself. Care about your problems and tackle them. Take out all of your pent up anger on your problems and just fucking let loose. Be the change you want to see – in the world, in yourself, what you want to see. Just do it.

Leave a Reply

