A Series of Events, Fortunate and Not So Much

So…

I’m going to get the sad stuff out of the way first so that I may release it and be done with the constant reminded sorrow that I keep feeling.

A very important figure from our modern world has passed on. Yes… Steve Jobs, at 56 years old, has died. Jeesh, I still don’t think I can register it yet. It’s so weird. He battled it for so long and lived for so much longer than expected that to believe he’s gone feels completely… weird. He contributed so much to the world, through Apple and Pixar both. He was such a positive and open-minded man. It’s very sad to lose such a progressive man in this day and age. But, I really feel uncomfortable talking about this because it depresses me, and there are many more a speech than the few words I could say. All I know is, Mr. Jobs, wherever your spirit is, I hope you can see all of the memorials and how much your absence is affecting the world. We’ll miss you more than words can tell.

Now… moving on, before  I get ridiculously depressed again.

The first choral concert of the year was last night and everyone did fantastically. A lot of the important seniors from last year that helped turn us into better singers showed up and it was very sweet. And the soloists, of which there were quite a few, all shone like stars. I was really starstruck by them all. They’ve kind of given me confidence to try out for future solos, because they were just so.. Impressive. Confident. Talented. I don’t even know the right word because none of those, while all true, aren’t the ones I’m looking for. There was something about their attitude. It was contagious, though. I felt so much better about being on stage and about singing out and standing perfectly that all of my stage fright and nerves just melted away. It was truly an interesting experience.

Mr. Broderick, my Psychology teacher, is going to help me throughout October to plan for my Nanowrimo piece. I hand-wrote my top three ideas down today and brought them to him. It’s interesting because they vary on difficulty; one is pretty typical for a chick-lit book but it’s something I am positive I could write 50,000 words about. The second will be difficult because it involves a lot of action which is something I’ve never written before. And the third would be interesting because it’s more of an abstract concept, which I’ve again never written about.

Anyway, I’m really tired. I apologize for missing a day. I was incredibly tired last night after coming home from the concert and the concert was the meat and potatoes of the day so I couldn’t write before then! And then today, the first thing I really did was take a three hour nap. So yeah, I’ve been doing a lot of catch up on sleep. Woohoo.

So I think I’m done for the day. Got a nice long three-day weekend coming up, no school on Monday and then a Spirit Week which will be fun. 🙂 Lots of good things to write about, most hopefully. Daily Post has a couple of good topics the days I choose I am too tired to actually write which is really annoying but that’s okay, I might go back a day or two when I have more time and energy to write. This hasn’t been bad, really, as it’s only the sixth of November and despite how tired I am I got roughly 600 words out. Prepping and pushing and trying real hard. Now it’s time for sleep, my dearies, for time has successfully slipped away.

Leave a Reply

