NaNoWriMo: The Prep Begins

Today is October 1st, 31 days from the beginning of a nerve-wracking contest that I’m probably a moron for attempting to do. NaNoWriMo, if you have yet to hear about it, consists of people all over the nation attempting to write 50,000 words in the month of November in novel-form. Which essentially means, fiction. Lots of it.

I wanted to begin upon deciding what to write about by searching the NaNoWriMo forums but if you’ve ever taken a peek at them (which you can do here) they are rather long and extensive just in categories and sub-forums and I got freaked out and came back to my blog.

What to write about, hmm..

WordPress has suggested that I try to write one post per day to get me into the habit of obscene amounts of writing that I will need to partake in if I want to achieve the goal of 50,000 words. I think that on the days I have no idea what to write about (as you know is a frequent problem with me) I will look up things online about how to make a good piece of writing. I know there are lots of tips and tricks out there, and that’ll help me keep up the ideology of writing fifty thousand words in thirty days. It will also help my craft of writing as it is.

By the way, you guys may have noticed this by the way I write in blogging alone but I’m a stickler for things being spelled correctly, correct punctuation, etcetera. I can ‘t do that for NaNoWriMo. They repeat this over and over throughout the website. There is no editing your novella. It is all about the word count. All the time you spend wanting to edit or revise or reword or rephrase… No. That time should all be spent expanding.

I will be making a separate blog for the NaNoWriMo novella itself. I will keep it private because of .. well, obvious reasons. Be aware, my normal blogging will probably decrease quite a bit. I will try to QuickPress every now and again to make y’all aware of my sanity and some interesting things of my life or perhaps every now and then I’ll post an excerpt of whatever it is I’m writing.

This is truly a cheating post, and I know it is. Perhaps later if there’s much to talk about, I’ll post something similar to yesterday about thinking and recollecting memories. An interesting activity, isn’t it? Even if the random seven I picked have little to no relevance to the present, it’s still an interesting way to spend time. Simply thinking.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The Prep Begins

  1. You go girl. I hope you reach your goal. I have found that writing in the same space, at the same time creates a pattern much like going to the gym. Personally I couldn’t finish a book in so short of a time and i envy you.
    Best of luck!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’m going to work my hardest. I have already set up the blog on which I will be doing all developmental work pre-writing in November and am beginning to brainstorm. I’m roaming forums on the NaNoWriMo website and rather enjoying the friendly crowd that seems to participate. It’ll be worth it for the ride even if I don’t finish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

