Thursday 13: Crafts I Want to Try

As I said, I’ve been going around meme-hunting for this blog. But before I was doing that, as I also mentioned, I’ve been stocking up on wonderful DIY crafts and projects to do. Today’s meme, found at (of course) TDM, is simply trying to get you to open up with other people that participate in the Thursday 13 meme. Sharing and talking about.. anything, really, there is no criteria. So, since I’ve been stockpiling on crafts,  that’s my first TT entry. :)

1.)  ‘Mud’ Body Scrub 

This sugar and coffee scrub has many healing and soothing as well as exfoliating qualities to make your skin glow. Just reading the description makes me wish my mom drank coffee so I could make it immediately! But that’s okay, trip soon. :)

2.) Makeup Remover 

This three-ingredient little spray seems cool and refreshing and an inexpensive method of removing makeup and freshening up. How much better can it get? Well, we’ll see when I try it. :P

3.) Tin Lanterns 

This is a really simple but really adorable project that I’m certainly going to try as soon as possible. I was thinking of attaching colored saran wrap to the insides of the can, so when you put the tea light in there, the design on the can shows up in a pretty color instead of white. What a lovely idea~

4.) Key Holders 

This is a collection of crafty ideas and projects to make a hanger for your keys so you never lose them again. I think my favorite may be this one, repurposing silverware. They look lovely and crafty, but also like they’re supposed to look that way. :P Sometimes it’s obvious when you make something that you made it, but those look like something you could buy if you wanted to.

5.) Organizing Crafts 

This is another collection but of helpful, organization crafts. Many of them seem to specify that they’re for home offices but several of them could be used in a bedroom or elsewhere you see fit. All of them seem like lovely additions to any home that could very much so help you keep track of things, and I’ll certainly be trying many if not all of these crafts.

6.) Vanilla Bean Sugar Scrub 

This is the first recipe I ever found for a sugar scrub while searching CraftGawker. It’s more complex than the sugar scrub I showed you before, which is the only reason I’ve yet to try it. I have most of the ingredients for this one, but I know that Kenny’s mom will have all of them in her kitchen so I’ve decided to wait awhile before making this sweet treat.

7.) Bath Salts

If you’ve yet to notice, I very much enjoy my bath time products. I started with making soap with a soap-making kit at the craft store. Then I found sugar scrubs on CraftGawker. And it’s progressed ever since. My second bath time product that I found was bath salts. I love bath salt. My mom used to get them and they make your bath feel like a dream. This is a very good, cheap and simple find.

8.) Homemade Lotion

This one comes from one of my favorite blogs, A Sonoma Garden. She has a lot of amazing homemade recipes and remedies as opposed to buying ready-made products in stores. This one has been on the top of my list to try for awhile now but the ingredients may or may not be out of your purchasing range. At least, that’s why I’ve yet to make it.

9.) Honey Milk Bath 

Both of the recipes found on this here website sound lovely. Both of these ingredients are very good for the skin and leave you feeling warm and spoiled. Which you deserve! So go ahead and indulge with these simple ingredients that you probably already have in your house. :) (At least I do, and I’m just too lazy to have tried this one yet … also partially due to the fact I take more showers than baths.)

10.) Reversible Coffee Cup Sleeves 

Now I have yet to learn to sew but I plan on doing so upon arrival in North Carolina for my second trip this summer. And this just looks.. so adorable. And lovely and awesome. And I’ll learn to get so good at sewing that the fact that this is a coffee cup sleeve won’t matter because I’ll learn how to adjust them to whatever cup I use because this is so cute.

11.) Sewing an iPod Sleeve

Another sewing project, this miniature iPod sleeve is super adorable. As I have trouble with my iPod and the iPhone I’m about to receive in a few weeks, I’m very cautious about my iPod’s safety. I’m not sure if I will therefore trust this sleeve or not to protect my iPod.. but we’ll see.

12.) Gingerbread Muffins w/ Cinnamon Frosting 

These last two links will be about cooking recipes I’ve found either on CraftGawker or on a sister site of CraftGawker, similarly titled FoodGawker. This one is of a truly lovely blog called Vanilla and Lace. These muffins.. they just.. they sound delicious. My stomach is cringing in hunger and desire just by typing this up. They look and sound like heaven.

13.) Buttermilk Biscuits

These things.. ohhh. Just click the link and stare at that image. Then click on the image and let it get huge and let your stomach threaten to kill you if you don’t feed it. This is one of the first things I plan on making once I get to Raleigh. I hope I do well, they look so delicious.

So there you have it, folks, my longest article to date is  my first Thursday Thirteen meme. I hope you enjoyed finding all these wonderful crafts and projects and recipes to try on your own. :)

14 thoughts on “Thursday 13: Crafts I Want to Try

  1. Pingback: An update in the life. | craftytexangirl

Leave a Reply

